Change trash can settings mac

A new window should open with information about that file. Select the image in the top left.

Here's Why You May Never Need to Empty Trash in macOS Sierra

The file icon is in the top left corner of this window. Click it to select it, and you should see it highlighted in blue. Paste your copied image. This should change the file icon to the image you copied earlier. This will only change the icon for that specific file, not for all files of that type. If a window pops up asking for a password, you are trying to change a file you do not have full access to.

Delete previously installed application files | macOS

These files can only have their icons changed if you enter an administrator password, or if you log on to an account with access. If you think your account should have access, expand the "Sharing and Permissions" section at the bottom of the Get Info window.


  1. mac pro 12 core pro tools.
  2. How to stop Mac asking before deleting.
  3. How to Uninstall Most Mac Applications.

Know the risks. This method shows you how to access the folder where all system icons are stored. This lets you change the icons for special items such as Finder and Trash, or to change default icons for an entire file type. Overwriting important icons or making a mistake here can make your computer very confusing to use.

Apple Footer

Log in to an administrator account. Only an administrator account can access this folder.


  1. Macworld Categories?
  2. cant print pdf file mac.
  3. microsoft powerpoint for mac free download;
  4. clavier bluetooth mac non reconnu?
  5. How to stop Mac OS X from deleting trashed files immediately?.

Open the Go to Folder window. Enter the address of your system icons folder. Explore the icons. Replacing an icon with a new. Making changes is not recommended unless you make copies of the file first.

How to Change Recycle Bin Settings in Windows 10

Save the copies in an easy-to-find folders. To undo your changes, return the copy to this system icons folder with the exact name it had before. Alternatively, you can back up your computer and restore it if you make a mistake. If you want to create your own file icons, create a transparent png image. The image should be square, and ideally x pixels. But emptying the trash doesn't really destroy the files: They remain on the hard drive, marked for being overwritten the next time your Mac needs the space.

A Beginner's Guide To the Mac Trash (#1443)

As a result, some deleted files can be recovered using disk recovery software. Sometimes you may delete files that are particularly sensitive: Financial records, for example, intimate photos, or other data you absolutely don't want anyone to get their hands on, under any circumstances. Apple has considered this and has provided a Secure Empty Trash option as well.

Secure Empty Trash overwrites the deleted files with what Apple calls "meaningless data. Secure Empty Trash takes longer, but provides, as the name implies, a more secure form of file deletion. Use at your own discretion. Use this tip if you'd like to make sure that your Mac securely deletes files every time you empty the Trash. What would it be like if a dog manned the International Space Station? Excited for your new AirPods Pro? Make sure to keep the charging case safe with these cool cases! Skip to main content.

Join , subscribers and get a daily digest of news, geek trivia, and our feature articles. Any time you delete something in Windows, it goes to the Recycle Bin. Most people just leave the Recycle Bin alone, never adjusting its default settings and letting it do its job. The Recycle Bin has a maximum amount of storage it can reach before Windows deletes old files to make room for new ones. The default storage size is a little tough to nail down. And yes, each volume has its own Recycle Bin.

In the image below, you can see it on the drive I use to hold my virtual machines.

Even though each drive has its own Recycle Bin folder, the contents of all those folders are combined in the normal Recycle Bin view so that you see all your deleted files, no matter where they come from.